Statistics

Writing App Statistics: Users, Limits, and Creator-Economy Metrics

Writing app statistics covering Grammarly, Notion, Medium, Substack, and Microsoft 365 usage, limits, revenue, and publishing metrics.

Writing app statistics show a market that spans grammar assistance, collaborative workspaces, digital publishing, newsletters, and office software. The figures below come from company support pages, blogs, press materials, and investor-relations disclosures. Measurement periods vary, so each figure should be read in the context supplied by its source rather than treated as a single market total.

Contents

Writing assistant adoption and capacity

Grammarly’s reported reach is one of the clearest indicators of demand for writing assistance. Grammarly Support says the service is trusted by over 40 million people worldwide and used by more than 50,000 organizations worldwide. A Grammarly press release separately says the product helps more than 40 million users daily. Those statements use different wording and source types, so they should not be added together as separate populations.

The company’s other disclosures also describe a large organizational footprint. A Grammarly SOC 3 report says Grammarly helps 30 million people and 30,000 teams write more. That is a distinct disclosure from the support-page figures and is best understood as another reported snapshot, not a combined total. A Grammarly press release reported annual revenue of more than $700 million, giving a sense of the commercial scale attached to the product’s user base.

For individual members, access and checking limits define practical capacity. Grammarly Support says one membership can be accessed on up to 5 different devices. In any 30-day period, Grammarly allows up to 300 documents and 150,000 words to be checked. In any 24-hour period, the limits are up to 100 documents and 50,000 words. These are service limits, not claims about typical writing volume.

The editor and upload rules add more measurable boundaries. Grammarly Support says Grammarly Editor checks up to 100,000 characters at a time, and document uploads can also be up to 100,000 characters. An uploaded file cannot exceed 4 MB. Supported upload formats include Microsoft Word, OpenOffice, .txt, and .rtf; the same support information says PDF, LaTeX, and Markdown files are not supported.

Notion’s scale and workspace limits

Notion’s growth disclosures connect writing, notes, documentation, and team knowledge management. A Notion blog post said the service passed 100 million users in August 2024. The same post recalled an earlier milestone photo showing only 1,000 users, while also saying that more than 1 billion people live and work in either the Microsoft or Google suite. These are company statements about different points in the product’s development and the broader software opportunity.

The product’s early development was not linear. Notion said it rebuilt its product 4 times in its early years. Its AI launch also generated a large initial response: the Notion AI blog says the private alpha received more than 2 million waitlist signups, and that Notion AI later became generally available to tens of millions of users.

Notion’s data infrastructure disclosures provide a separate view of scale. A Notion data-lake blog post said the company’s data expanded 10x in the past 3 years and that its data-doubling rate was 6 to 12 months. The growth rate describes the interval between doublings, while the 10x figure describes cumulative expansion over the stated three-year period; they measure related but different things.

Workspace limits matter to writers building long archives or shared editorial systems. The Notion Help Center says free-plan workspaces with 2 or more owners are limited to 1,000 blocks and receive a 3-day grace period when they hit that limit. Paid Notion plans offer unlimited blocks. The free plan also has unlimited blocks when the workspace has only 1 owner. On the Plus plan, Notion allows 100 guests, according to a Notion pricing blog post; the Help Center presents the free-plan guest limit in its plan-specific guest-limit table.

Notion’s publishing-oriented features have their own numeric constraints. The Notion Help Center says a Welcome page can show up to 3 endorsements. It can show either the publication launch date or total subscriber count. For the cover photo, the minimum size is 600 x 600 pixels. These details are small compared with user totals, but they affect how a writer presents a publication or resource hub.

Medium reading and creator economics

Medium’s platform statistics are mostly operational measures: what counts as a read, how listening is capped, and when creator payments are processed. Medium Help Center guidance says a member read is counted at 30 seconds or more. Reads arriving from outside Medium receive a 5% bonus, while listening earnings are capped at 2 full listens per member.

The platform’s payment timing is also explicit. Medium finalizes earnings within up to 48 hours. For Boost, the eligibility window is 6 months, or 180 days. Medium can pay $45 USD for every story selected for Boost, while Boost nomination compensation is capped at $900 USD per month. Medium pays Boost nomination payouts by the 10th day of the following month.

Medium’s editorial and distribution systems add further measurable structure. Its human curation team reviews stories 7 days a week. The Help Center recognizes 3 distribution categories: Network, General, and Boost. The claps feature allows up to 50 claps per story or list. Readers can read stories from thousands of authors, according to Medium’s support information, although that phrase is not a platform-wide author-count estimate.

Account access is also standardized: Medium Help Center documentation lists 4 account creation or sign-in methods. Together, these figures describe a publishing platform where engagement, discovery, monetization, and access are governed by separate rules rather than one universal performance score.

Substack newsletter measurement

Substack’s statistics emphasize newsletter businesses and recommendation effects. The Substack Help Center says its Stats page tracks up to 10 categories of metrics. Its overview shows 3 headline metrics: gross annualized revenue, paid subscribers, and total subscribers. These categories distinguish business value, paying audience, and total audience instead of collapsing them into one subscriber count.

Recommendations are measured as a reciprocal network effect. Substack recommends that a creator who makes a recommendation is 3x more likely to receive one back. When the recommended creator subscribes, Substack sends recommendation emails within 1 hour. The first figure is a likelihood comparison supplied by Substack, while the second is an email timing claim; neither establishes a guaranteed outcome for every publication.

Substack also organizes discovery through leaderboard categories. Its Help Center names Rising and Top Bestseller leaderboards. The Top Bestseller leaderboard is ranked by annual recurring revenue, or ARR. That ranking basis means the leaderboard is oriented toward recurring paid revenue rather than total readers, free subscribers, or article volume.

Microsoft 365 as a writing platform

Microsoft 365 combines word processing, collaboration, and AI features, so its reported figures provide a large-scale comparison point for writing software. Microsoft investor-relations material reported 11% growth in Microsoft 365 Consumer cloud revenue and subscriber growth of 8% to 89.0 million. The same source reported 15% growth in Microsoft 365 Commercial cloud revenue and 6% Commercial seat growth.

At the broader business level, Microsoft’s 2025 Annual Shareholder Meeting said the Microsoft 365 business across commercial and consumer exceeded $95 billion. This is a company-wide business figure, not revenue attributed only to Word or another writing application.

Microsoft’s Copilot figures show how AI is being attached to an established productivity platform. Microsoft said it had 15 million paid Microsoft 365 Copilot seats and that paid seats grew 160% year over year. It also said Copilot queries per user were up nearly 20% quarter over quarter. These growth comparisons are time-relative measurements: year-over-year compares with the prior year, while quarter-over-quarter compares with the previous quarter.

Microsoft also said it delivered 625 Microsoft 365 Copilot updates over the past year, and that this update count was up 50% year over year. The number describes product updates rather than users, seats, or writing volume. It therefore helps measure release activity, not adoption by itself.

Writing app metrics at a glance

The following table groups selected figures by what they measure. It keeps audience scale, operational limits, creator economics, and business performance separate.

App or platformMetricReported figureSource and period/context
GrammarlyPeople trusted worldwideOver 40 millionGrammarly Support; period not stated
GrammarlyOrganizations worldwideMore than 50,000Grammarly Support; period not stated
GrammarlyDaily usersMore than 40 millionGrammarly press release; period not stated
GrammarlyAnnual revenueMore than $700 millionGrammarly press release; period not stated
NotionUsersMore than 100 millionNotion blog; August 2024
NotionAI waitlist signupsMore than 2 millionNotion AI blog; private-alpha launch
MediumMember-read threshold30 secondsMedium Help Center; platform rule
MediumBoost story payment$45 USDMedium Help Center; platform rule
SubstackStats categoriesUp to 10Substack Help Center; platform feature
Microsoft 365Consumer subscribers89.0 millionMicrosoft investor relations; growth disclosure
Microsoft 365 CopilotPaid seats15 millionMicrosoft earnings call; disclosure period not stated

These figures are not directly interchangeable. A user count measures reach, a seat count measures paid access, a block or document limit measures product capacity, and a revenue figure measures money. Reading them together is most useful when the category and measurement context remain visible.

For writers choosing tools, the practical comparison is therefore multidimensional: Grammarly reports limits on documents, words, characters, devices, and file size; Notion reports workspace blocks, guests, endorsements, and cover dimensions; Medium reports reading, curation, distribution, and payout rules; Substack reports audience and revenue metrics; and Microsoft 365 reports subscribers, seats, revenue, queries, and update activity. The numbers show how differently writing platforms define scale.

Written by

marsocial.com Editorial Team

Editorial team

Independent editorial coverage of writing & publishing.